Vail Yeti Arizona Outlaws MWHL Cup

Vail Wins MWHL Cup

The Vail Yeti won the MWHL Cup by defeating Arizona Outlaws 5-3 in the second game of their best of three series. Vail’s Bill Foster scored two goals including the game winner, giving him five goals in the series and earning the MWHL Playoff MVP Award.

The Yeti struck first at 18:49 when Bren Sands converted a pass from Kyle Dove to beat Outlaws goalie Alex Palumbo. Matt Merritt doubled the lead at 7:51 from Will Compton. Despite numerous chances during the opening set, Arizona couldn’t find net behind Vail goalie Spencer Gold.

Foster scored his first goal of the game (fourth of the series) on the power play at 13:55 of the second period with help from Dalton Speelman. He struck again 9:05 from Justin Elmore to make it a 4-0 game. The Yeti looked to be coasting until the Outlaws struck back with two quick goals. Chris Walker scored at 6:13 from Jake Bayer then Colton St. Clair found twine at 5:52 with a helper by Dom Panetta to cut Vail’s lead to 4-2.

The teams went toe to toe with great scoring chances in the third period until Speelman converted a Foster pass at 13:09 to give the Yeti some insurance. It was needed because Walker scored his second goal of the game for the Outlaws at 11:53. But Vail shut the door the rest of the way to earn their second MWHL Cup championship.

Vail’s alternate captains accepted the MWHL Cup banner then Foster was presented the MWHL Cup by Commissioner Thomas Brown. The Yeti captain raised the MWHL Cup before handing it to his teammates for a wild on-ice celebration.